2009 Natural Sciences and Mathematics Awards Banquet

        On April 13, 2009, the "School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics" Awards Banquet was held in the Alumni House.  While no longer in existence (NSM was a "school" in the former College of Arts and Sciences), the departments still share their common bond in math and sciences and have continued the tradition of an annual spring awards banquet. 
        Dr. Robert Smith, President, welcomed the attendees.  Provost Bill Williams was also present, and Dr. Susan Hannam, Dean of CHES, presented several Natural Sciences and Mathematics Scholarships.  Dr. Mark Showell of the Department of Biology served as the Master of Ceremonies.

The evening provided a wonderful opportunity to honor our outstanding students and scholarship winners.

Enlargements and captions not yet available

Biology Award Winners

Department of Biology


Outstanding Biology Senior Award: Phillip Williamson

CPUB Outstanding Student: Lystina Kabay

Beta Beta Beta Senior Service Award: Laura Bate

Rhoda Evans Taylor Endowed Scholarship: Carol Carrigan

Thomas W. Gaither Scholarship: Kasey Radicic

Biology Honors Scholarship: Melissa McCutcheon

William A. Ralston Scholarship:  Melissa Tawney

Biology Honors Scholarship:  ShengNan Zheng

William R. Sigmund PJAS Award: Jessica Rack

Genevieve M. Tvrdik Scholarship: Seth Witmer

John P. Phillips Memorial Scholarship: Timothy Hahn

Beta Beta Beta Alumni Scholarship: Jessica Rack

A. P. Vincent Scholarship: Lystina Kabay

Frank A. Pugliese "Rock" Scholarship: Matthew Laubham

Sophomore Biology Honors Scholarship: Melissa Tawney

Sophomore Biology Honors Scholarship: ShengNan Zheng


Current Biology Scholarship Recipients:

Thomas W. Gaither Scholarship: Cassandra Keller
Biology Honors Scholarship: Grace Baschnagel
Thomas John Scholarship:  Melissa Tawney
William R. Sigmund PJAS Award: Susan VanGavree
Genevieve M. Tvrdik Scholarship: Phillip Williamson
John P. Phillips Memorial Scholarship: Phillip Williamson
Beta Beta Beta Alumni Scholarship: Timothy Hahn
A. P. Vincent Scholarship: Susan VanGavree
Frank A. Pugliese "Rock" Scholarship: Jessica Rack
Sophomore Biology Honors Scholarship: Cory Smith
Sophomore Biology Honors Scholarship: Carley Parsons



Return to my Home Page