2008 Natural Sciences and Mathematics Awards Banquet

        On April 22, 2008, the "School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics" Awards Banquet was held in Boozel Dining Hall.  While no longer in existence (NSM was a "school" in the former College of Arts and Sciences), the departments still share their common bond in math and sciences and have continued the tradition of an annual spring awards banquet. 
        Dr. Robert Smith, President, welcomed the attendees.  Provost Bill Williams was also present, and Dr. Susan Hannam, Dean of CHES, presented several Natural Sciences and Mathematics Scholarships.  Dr. Mark Showell of the Department of Biology served as the Master of Ceremonies.

The evening provided a wonderful opportunity to honor our outstanding students and scholarship winners.

(Unfortunately, pictures of all winners were not available. My apologies to those we were not able to get good enough pictures to post here!)

Biology Award Winners

Department of Biology


Outstanding Biology Senior Award: Rebecca Pike

CPUB Outstanding Student: Rebecca Pike

Outstanding Medical Technology Junior: Brittany Little

Beta Beta Beta Senior Service Award: Rebecca Pike

Rhoda Evans Taylor Endowed Scholarship: Teresa Guth

Thomas W. Gaither Scholarship: Cassandra Keller

Biology Honors Scholarship: Grace Baschnagel

William R. Sigmund PJAS Award: Susan VanGavree

Genevieve M. Tvrdik Scholarship: Phillip Williamson

John P. Phillips Memorial Scholarship: Phillip Williamson

Beta Beta Beta Alumni Scholarship: Timothy Hahn

A. P. Vincent Scholarship: Susan VanGavree

Frank A. Pugliese "Rock" Scholarship: Jessica Rack

Sophomore Biology Honors Scholarship: Cory Smith

Sophomore Biology Honors Scholarship: Carley Parsons


Current Biology Scholarship Recipients:
Dana Charlton (James Steel Scholarship)
Sarah Robich (Frank A. Pugliese Rock Scholarship)
Rebecca Pike (John N. Anderson Scholarship)
Theresa McClain (Beta Beta Beta Alumni Scholarship)
Nadya Mamoozadeh (A P Vincent Scholarship)
Rebecca Pike (William Ralston Scholarship)
Bridgette Jewell (Thomas W. Gaither Scholarship)
Nadya Mamoozadeh (Genevieve M. Tvrdik Scholarship)
Melissa Tawney (Thomas John Scholarship) 
Rebecca Pike (William R. Sigmund PJAS Award) 
Madeline Spigler (John P. Phillips Memorial Scholarship) 



Return to my Home Page